U16 Girls' Football – 26th September 2012

Round 2 National Cup v Nene Park Academy FT: TCA 6-6 NPA AET: TCA 7 – 6 NPA Goalscorers: Jade Chamberlain (4), Casey Ward (2), Fern Patterson

<u>Team</u>

Courtney Wakeham (captain) Becca Cooper (vice captain) Jess Drew Ashleigh Burrell Ellie Bennington Emily Cooper Fern Patterson Jess Cooper Jade Chamberlain Hannah Reynolds Casey Ward Justyna Swiderek Amy Hepting Megan Aguis

Manager Miss A Anderson

Thomas Clarkson Academy's U16 girls' football team have made a thrilling start to the 2012/2013 campaign in the English Schools FA national cup with a win against favourites Nene Park Academy. The team, made from a combination of year 7 and 8 girls was led by captain Wakeham.

TCA made a very strong start, going 3-0 ahead with goals from Chamberlain, Ward and Patterson. Support was strong from TCA with students and teachers alike cheering on the girls.

Nene Park Academy attacked hard and the strong defence of Wakeham, Drew, Reynolds and B. Cooper held them. Burrell impressed with a multitude of saves as the pressure on the TCA defence mounted.

Bennington made some cracking runs down the wing which resulted in Ward and Chamberlain scoring another goal each. The score at half-time was 5-3 in favour of the home team.

The TCA defence cracked late in the second half, with NPA taking the lead. In the last minutes of the half Chamberlain equalled the scores. TCA held the score until full time.

An inspirational team talk by Miss Anderson lifted the motivational levels of the girls'. There was 10 minutes of extra time to be played; TCA knew what they had to do.

Just one goal would win it. TCA deserved the win; they'd fought hard against all the odds, against a team which boasted at least one Arsenal player. A great team effort from all of the girls resulted in Chamberlain slotting the last goal of the game into the back of the Nene Park Academy goal. The crowd went wild!

Thomas Clarkson Academy progress to round 3 where they are away to face The Voyager (Peterborough).

Referee – Mr S Arnold Linesmen – Dom Venckus & George Freear